Superbowl 2013 Cycling Mix

1 Feb

I should have called this playlist:  ‘I Don’t Know Jack About Football Cycling Mix’.  I honestly have never watched an entire football game.  Or even a quarter. Do they even have quarters?

And don’t ask me to tell you which two teams are competing this year.  No clue.  I do remember someone telling me that they are playing in New Orleans.  Nothing against football really, I’m just not interested.

I do know that pretty much everyone else on the planet will be watching the Superbowl, so I thought a Superbowl playlist was appropriate.  Thanks to my Facebook cycling friends and Spotify, I was able to find some great tunes to fit my ride.  I hope you like it!

Check out the entire playlist here: (click to enlarge)

Screen Shot 2013-02-01 at 8.12.13 AM

Listen here:

The Fight’s About To Begin: warm up

Stand Up: continue warm up and bring it out of the saddle

When We Stand Together: Start adding resistance.  Bring it up for a standing climb.

Played-A-Live-The Bongo Song: Seated accelerations @ :16 (25 seconds), 1:11 (25 seconds), and 2:23 (35 seconds)

You Gotta Want It: Standing flat

Blitzkrieg Bop: Seated fast flat

Survival: Heavy standing climb

Levitate: alternate seated/standing flat

Crowd Chant: 4 count jumps

Thunderstruck: Seated accelerations

Get Up (A Cowboys Anthem): Standing climb

War Chant: Seated climb

Tubthumping: riders choice: work hard-seated or standing OR alternating

NFL On Fox: recovery

Tabata: 20 second accelerations x8 (10 second recoveries)

We Are The Champions: Cool Down

Bad Day: Stretch

4 Responses to “Superbowl 2013 Cycling Mix”

  1. spinningoma February 1, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    I also put together a Superbowl Ride that we did Wed. night and this morning (Friday). Using songs I told a story of two teams who are meeting on the biggest night and stage of the football year. Both Have a Feeling that it’s going to be a good night. The sellout crowd is chanting. The two teams are the San Francisco 49ers and the Baltimore Ravens. Both teams are on the Edge of Glory. The winner will have to play Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger. The winner will also have to be a little Lucky. But ultimately the winner will have to dig deep and find the Champion in Me. At the end, both teams need to thank the coaches, trainers, family and friends who Push(ed) them. Who will win? I don’t know but we, the cyclists are Champions and I hope that they, like the two teams, had the Time of Your Life!
    PLAYLIST:
    1. We Will Rock You – Queen
    2. I Gotta Feeling – Black Eyed Peas
    3. Kernkraft 400 (Sport Chant Stadium remix)
    4. The Sound of San Francisco – Global DJs
    5. Fly Away (Italo Edition) (Bastino vs C.Y.T.) F. E. Marco
    6. The Edge of Glory – Lady GaGa
    7. Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger – Daft Punk
    8. Lucky (Hot Stuff Short Mix) – Lucky Twice
    9. The Champion in Me – 3 Doors Down
    10.Push – Madonna
    11.We Are the Champions – Queen
    12.Good Riddance (Time of your Life) – Green Day
    PUT THE POWER TO THE PEDALS!!

    • chrispins February 1, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

      Really creative! And a some great tunes too! 🙂

  2. Bonnie February 1, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    For someone who doesn’t like football, you sure did a nice job 🙂

    I, on the other hand, love football. I’m going to do a Super Bowl ride for my 5:45 a.m. class on Monday, dividing everyone into teams, four quarters, etc. It will be only hours after the Super Bowl, and we’ll all be talking about it anyway; I was going to do it last week, but it seemed too early to get excited about it…

    I did a Super Bowl ride last year for my Sunday class on Super Bowl sunday, and it was a lot of fun. (this year, we have our race day ride, so it’s like our own little Super Bowl).

    • chrispins February 1, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

      Thanks Bonnie! I don’t like football, but I do love music, so it worked out I guess. I love how creative everyone has gotten with the ‘football’ theme. 🙂 Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

