Procrastination Nation/Pretty Fly Cycling Mix

20 Jan

**This post has been edited to include teaching notes (1/21/13)

I am definitely a procrastinator. It’s not a bad habit really, because it allows me to get things done that otherwise wouldn’t get done.  Don’t mistake a procrastinator with someone that has a poor work ethic or someone who is perpetually late, because I do pride myself on always being on time (or insanely early) and always doing my best work. It’s just that certain things must wait until the last minute.  Report cards for example.  Our report card grades are inputted electronically, so they are ‘open’ for a specific amount of time.  They have been open for two weeks now and I have done a little here and there, but they are nowhere near completed.  Oh, don’t you worry, they will be done on time.  They close on Thursday evening at midnight. (Or would that be Friday morning at midnight?).  I should be finishing up  Thursday evening at 11:59.

th-13

Does this sound familiar to you? It’s not that I’m lying around doing nothing.  I tend to find other things to do when I’m avoiding the inevitable.  Like clean my entire house.  That’s right, it’s clean.  And catching up on laundry.(Does that EVER happen? ) Only when report cards are looming over my head.   With my house clean and my laundry folded, I sat down to a cup of coffee and wondered what I could do next.  A new blog post of course!

What to write about?  My newest song find.  It’s not actually new, but it’s new to me. Here’s how I found it:  Yesterday I went to another indoor training ride.  The atmosphere at these rides is a lot different from a spin class.  There’s a lot of chatting and general messing around during class.  Singing along and hand waving are optional, but encouraged.  Hooting and hollering ensues.  It’s not something I promote during my classes, but it is SO MUCH FUN!!!!  Anyway, the instructor is this crazy but lovable guy who plays a lot of uptempo, hard rock both classic and contemporary.  He sings along and plays the air guitar like a boss all while pedaling away and yelling out commands to the masses.  Here’s a tune that he played during yesterday’s ride:

When it first started, I thought ‘Awesome!!! Def Leppard!!!!  Nope.  But as the song went on I really started to enjoy it. And I found myself singing along with the few others that were obviously familiar with it.  I wondered how this song had slipped past my radar.  I went straight home to find it in Spotify. It had to go on my next playlist!  To be fair, the song was released in 2005 and I wasn’t an instructor at the time.  I love finding ‘new to me’ songs.  You never know where they will pop up! I will be using this one as a fast flat with accelerations.

Here’s the rest of the playlist:

*Notice the James Taylor song ‘Shed a Little Light’ in honor of Martin Luther King Day for a cool down/stretch.

Now I’d better get going on those report cards.  Oh, wait.  I think my closet needs organizing…

**Marry You: Warm up

Turn It Up: Continue warm up/standing flat, light resistance

You Better Run: Standing climb

Pump It: Seated accelerations at :47 (25 seconds); 1:43 (25 seconds); 2:35 (25 seconds) and 3:20 (20 seconds)

Pretty Fly:  Add more gear and continue seated accelerations on the chorus

What I Know: Alternate seated/standing climb

Something Beautiful: Add gear and make it a standing climb

Move Like You Stole It: Fast seated flat

Himalayan: Short and sweet: 1 minute seated climb, 1 minute standing climb

It’s Time: Standing climb

Sandstorm: Seated accelerations @ :27 (25 seconds); 1:19 (40 seconds) and 2:34 (30 seconds)

Primal Scream: Alternate seated/standing climb

Boom Boom: Standing flat

Yesterday: Recovery

Jai Ho: Tabata Intervals-20 second seated accelerations followed by 10 second recoveries x8

Shed a Little Light: Cool Down

Something: Stretch

 

8 Responses to “Procrastination Nation/Pretty Fly Cycling Mix”

  1. asormano January 21, 2013 at 12:21 am #

    Love this! I can totally relate to the grades! I teach fourth grade and ALWAYS finish right at 11:59! 🙂 I am just checking out your blog…newbie! I also teach spin, so I am always looking for new music! Thanks!

    • chrispins January 21, 2013 at 2:20 am #

      Thanks for stopping by the blog! I hope you pick up some new tunes that you can use in your classes!

      • Madison January 21, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

        I so enjoy your blog Chris. I really like your choices of music.Do you think it might be possible to get the profile moves you use for these great songs.

      • chrispins January 21, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

        Thanks Madison! Check back later today! I promise to update the post with teaching notes when I get back from lunch! 🙂

  2. Debbie Johnston January 21, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    Totally relate to this one!! I teach second grade…and “report card weekends” are the longest of the year – the time I get the laundry done, vacuum, mop, download new music, etc…anything except those dreaded reports! I also teach spin – and stole your MLK tribute song this morning. Thanks!!

    • chrispins January 21, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      Thanks for commenting Debbie. I’m still procrastinating! I’m glad I’m not the only one!

  3. Shannon January 22, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    used this playlist today- LOVED it. Thank you so much!!!

    • chrispins January 22, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      You are quite welcome! Glad you liked the playlist!

Leave a Reply

