Feel This Moment Cycling Mix

6 Jan

I teach a class on Monday evenings, so with Christmas and New Year’s Eves both falling on Monday nights, I’ve missed teaching that class for two weeks in a row.  I’m glad to be back on schedule this week!

Here’s something else I’m thankful for: SNOW!!!  I know I may be in the minority here, and you won’t find too many people around these parts that get excited over snow since we usually see A LOT of it!  In fact, Syracuse usually wins the honor of ‘Snowiest U.S. City’.  Last year was kind of a strange year for us.  It was the warmest winter on record here and we hardly had any snow!

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you might remember that my husband and I bought snowshoes last Christmas.  So of course it wouldn’t snow in Syracuse the year I get snowshoes!!!!

This December started out on the unseasonably warm side, so I was hoping we would not be in for another winter with no snow, but then right before Christmas, Mother Nature dumped a boatload of the white stuff on us.  I am happy to report that my husband and I have taken our snowshoes out 3 whole times already! That’s not bad actually, since he doesn’t usually exercise and we are pretty busy carting kids to practices and games most of the time.  It’s nice to get out and enjoy the outdoors and each other’s company and take in the beauty of the area.  I definitely am a fan of the snowshoes.  If you’ve never tried it, I’m sure you can find a place in your community to rent them, which is what I did before deciding I liked it enough to get a pair of my own.

I got mine from LL Bean.  Aren’t they super cute??

Screen Shot 2013-01-06 at 1.41.41 PM

 

Here’s the playlist that I will be using for tomorrow’s class:

Teaching Notes:

Animal: Warm up

People Like Us: Continuation of warmup.  Bring it up out of the saddle for a light climb.

Mermaid: Standing climb

Generation of Love: Seated ccelerations on the chorus

Pump It Up: Alternate seated/standing flat

Figure 8: Standing climb, adding gear every 45 seconds

Stickshifts and Safety Belts:  This one’s sure to put a smile on your face!  🙂  Seated flat

One Night In Bangkok:  Remember this one?  I haven’t heard it in ages!  Alternate seated/standing climb

Aqua Vitae:  I love songs that have that epic, cinema song feel to them for seated climbs

Feel This Moment:  Start with 8 count jumps/move to 4 count jumps.  I think there’s an F bomb in here somewhere-careful!

Mr. Vain: Seated accelerations

Rasputin: Alternate seated/standing climb

Hey Baby: Standing flat

Sleepy Maggie: Recovery

Tabata: Seated accelerations 20 seconds x8

We Both Know: Cool Down

Desperado: Stretch

13 Responses to “Feel This Moment Cycling Mix”

  1. Bonnie January 6, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    Great playlist once again.

    I had to laugh – I too have snowshoes from LL Bean (mine are all pink! I went to college 30 min. from Freeport, Maine, so I still love LL Bean). I have to admit, though, I don’t use them much. I really don’t like snow! (even after 4 years in Maine). Glad you get to use yours. Enjoy!

    Bonnie

    • Chris January 6, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

      Aww…thanks Bonnie! I know, I’m kind of an anomaly. I do like summer since I’m a teacher and I get 2 months off, but I don’t love hot weather. I’d rather have snow any day. We’ve visited Maine several times (in the summer) and loved it! 🙂

  2. Jessica @ Fit Talker January 7, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    Dumb question…what do you do with snow shoes? Just walk around in them?

    I teach on Tuesday nights so I too haven’t had class for the past two weeks and it’s been odd. I’m definitely looking forward to getting back to it this week (and hoping the resolution crew boosts the numbers).

    • chrispins January 7, 2013 at 1:42 am #

      Hi Jessica! Yes, you actually do just walk around in them. But the design allows you to kind of ‘float’ over the snow, so you can walk in deep snow without falling in as you would if you were just walking in your boots. So you can go pretty much anywhere there is snow. You don’t need a trail. It’s a great workout. We also use poles-not sure if all snowshoers do, but it definitely helps get your upper body involved and it keeps you steady on your feet. I love being outdoors when the weather allows, and snowshoes allow you to check out areas that you couldn’t on foot. 🙂

      • Jessica @ Fit Talker January 7, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

        Sounds pretty neat. While I’m not a true fan of the snow, I do love the quiet that comes with a substantial snow fall, so snow shoes would be great for exploring at that time.

  3. Michele January 7, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    Chris, So does your hubby finally see that spinning is what keeps you in such awesome shape? Can he keep up with you? Ha-ha. I could use snow shoes at my house, we can walk off the front porch right onto a snow drift!

    • chrispins January 7, 2013 at 11:48 am #

      Hi Michele! Luckily my husband has really long legs so I think that helps. He’s actually ususally way ahead of me! We miss seeing you! Take care! 🙂

  4. mrsobryan January 7, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    Hi Chris. I’m looking for some tabata tips and song suggestions. I started adding a tabata song or two to each class a few months ago. The only two tabata songs I like on iTunes are Interval 6 and Interval 8 by Ultralife – the rest just don’t seem energetic enough. Since I’ve been playing the same two for awhile, I left them out of my last few playlists, and everyone wants them back! How do I mix it up? I’ve just been doing seated accelerations because those seem the “safest” to me.

    • chrispins January 8, 2013 at 1:43 am #

      Hi Leslie,

      Check my Facebook page. I posted a playlist from Spotify with some of the Tabata songs I use frequently. I tend favor the ones with the guy that does the countdown for you. It takes some of the stress off just knowing that someone else is taking care of the timing. I have a joke with one of the other bloggers that I imagine him to be a super-hot guy. I too tend to play the same ones a lot, but honestly, the people love the Tabatas, so I don’t think they mind too much. Hopefully you’ll find something new in this list that you can use. ALso, I suppose any song around 4:30-5:00 minutes with a quick pace throughout would work for Tabatas.

      I always do seated accelerations with them.

      I hope that helps!

      • GeminiGirl January 9, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

        Thanks for the ideas and for posting all the songs – I wish I could find a place where I could still download them! iTunes just has one of Ultralife’s albums available now – I’m not sure where the other ones went. I really like the ones they do because it’s so clear when to go and rest. Thanks again for the inspiration!

      • chrispins January 12, 2013 at 12:49 am #

        You’re welcome! I’m not sure where the Tabata songs on iTunes went either. It’s a mystery… I am almost strictly using Spotify at this point unless there’s a song I really want and can’t find it there. That has not happened much though. 🙂

  5. Jennie January 11, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    GREAT GREAT mix!! Did this mix last night and I loved it and so did the rest of my class! Such great songs! Thanks!

    • chrispins January 12, 2013 at 12:50 am #

      Thanks Jennie! I’m glad you like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

