Some 2012 Favorites: A Cycling Mix

30 Dec

tumblr_mfueqrm4lk1relv1go1_500

I like to think that I do a pretty good job keeping everyone happy with the music that I use in my playlists.  I try my best to work to my audience, but also to stay true to my ride profile.  That sometimes means that I don’t use all of the songs I want to in one profile just because I or someone else really likes them.  This is the case with this playlist. While there are so many really great songs that came out in 2012 that I would have loved to use, they didn’t all make the cut because they just didn’t fit my ride.  And there are songs here that I’m not really in love with, but I know my members will like them and they work quite well here.

One of the things I think that is really important when you are making playlists for your classes is knowing your audience.  Something else that I’ve learned is that while playing great, new tunes is cool, you absolutely have to throw in a good amount of  songs in each playlist that will be recognizable to your members.  That might mean some top 40, or it might mean some classic rock, or even a remix of a classic rock song if you aren’t really into that.  As a class participant, nothing is more boring than going into a class and cycling to almost an hour’s worth of music that you’ve never heard before.  Even if it is good. And don’t assume that just because you’ve heard it before, your members have. That’s why I mix up the top forty with the classic rock and remixes quite a bit. I do have a variety of age groups in my classes.

I take other instructor’s classes on a pretty regular basis, and I can tell you that while I’m there to get a killer workout, I also hope that the music is top notch too. And when a song comes on that I’m familiar with, it sometimes makes me work a little harder, and at the very least, it makes me happy.  So make your members happy and throw in some songs that might just make their day.  🙂

Even though there are no classic rock songs here, I’m sure this will be a fun class because everyone will be familiar with at least a few of the tunes here.

My favorite song of 2012?  I have to say ‘Some Nights’ by fun.  (Even though I have to edit the f-bomb when I use it!)

What is your favorite song of 2012 to spin to or just for listening?

**POST EDIT: I changed out one of the songs from the original playlist with this mashup featuring 24 artists and popular songs from 2012:

11 Responses to “Some 2012 Favorites: A Cycling Mix”

  1. Lisa Boylan December 30, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Love this playlist! Thank you for your posts – they’re great!

    • chrispins December 30, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

      Thanks Lisa! Happy new year!

  2. Irene Sanders December 30, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    My two favorites for 2012 are Home by Phillip Phillips and 93 Million Miles by Jason Mraz!

    • Chris December 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

      Hey Irene! Happy New Year! Thanks for sharing your favorites. You know I have a soft spot for both of those guys. 🙂

  3. Lisa December 30, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    I totally agree about the benefit of mixing in some recognizable favorites with the new stuff. To be honest, there’ve been so many new tunes I’m free to use in Spotify, that I got away from this last month. I did a few rides with all new music, and since the music was good, I wouldn’t say the classes bombed or anything, but I didn’t get the “wow, great playlist!” comments I usually do after my classes. So, I was already planning to get back to my old way of weaving old and new together in 2013. Especially since I definitely have a wide range of ages, and some of my most loyal (and vocal) regulars are 50+ and they need their classic rock mixed in with the current stuff.

    • Chris December 30, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      Thanks for commenting Lisa, I’m glad you agree. You’re right, people always comment when you play music they know. They really do appreciate it. And there is some really great stuff out there so why not mix it up, right? Happy New Year to you! 🙂

  4. stevespinlist January 1, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    Several good tracks to chose from…my favorite is Chasing the Sun – The Wanted – 3:19 (great for a Sprinting set). Happy New Year!

    • chrispins January 1, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

      Thanks! There were so many great songs to choose from, it was hard pick. I agree-Chasing the Sun is a good one!Thanks for commenting and have a happy 2013!

      • Melissa halliday January 23, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

        Great list! Tell me you have a standing flat as a ride activity. How do you differentiate that from a standing climb or run?

      • chrispins January 24, 2013 at 1:53 am #

        Thanks! Standing flat is the same as a standing run. I cue it with less resistence than a standing climb, but still enough gear that your legs are in control of the flywheel. If you can’t maintain form, you need more gear.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spinning Music’s Top 25 Cycling Tunes of 2012! « S p i n n i n g M u s i c - January 15, 2013

    […] J.R. Atwood’s Spinning Mixes was the inspiration for this blog and even though he’s not actively updating it anymore, it’s still got some fine alt-rock rides that stand the test of time.  Singapore cyclist David McQuillan’s Sufferfest is the place to go if you want to add video and coaching to your training rides.  His videos have garnered rave reviews from CyclingNews.com, VeloNews, Triathlete, and Cycling Weekly, AND he offers a money-back guarantee.  Chrispins is the WordPress blog of a New York cycling instructor and contributor over ICI/Pro.  Chris is an incredibly prolific blogger (I am in awe!) and offers tons of great music suggestions through Spotify – it’d take you days to check out all of them.  (You can find her ‘Best of 2012′ playlist here.) […]

Leave a Reply

