Funky New Year

27 Dec

2012

When I sat down to write this post, I was sure there wouldn’t be much to write about.  How much could have really happened in 365 days?  You’d be surprised.  While it wasn’t terribly eventful, there were definitely some high points-both in my personal life and in my ‘spinning’ life.  So here are the highlights and here’s to a great 2013!

The Ride For Missing Children:

485821_365667163490657_129882210402488_1004874_1689477512_n

This was definitely the highlight of the year for me.  While training for the 100 mile ride did not involve too much extra effort on my part since I was already in pretty good shape, I did graduate from spin bike to road bike quite gracefully (if I don’t say so myself).  I had to learn how to ride on the road, and I can honestly say that I’m a better instructor for it.  I had to learn how to ride in a group , which was much more tricky than I ever thought it would be!  I had to  get a feel for my new (borrowed) wheels.  And while I was proud of myself for getting through the 100 miles without any trouble, I realized that it wasn’t about me at all.  It was about supporting the families of missing children and bringing them home safely.  I can’t wait to do it again this year!

Vacation:

I survived a family vacation!  I’m talking about brothers, sisters, moms, dads, cousins.  16 of us in one house on the beach for an entire week!  We had a great time in beautiful Nags Head, NC and I even got to take a spin class at the local YMCA while I was there!

So pretty, but really, there's no place like home.

Ping/Spotify:

I made the switch from iTunes to Spotify.  Well, I still use iTunes a bit, but I strictly use Spotify for my class playlists at this point and I love it. While I miss the social aspect and ease of Ping, I am saving a ton of money with Spotify Premium.

thumbnail.aspx

ICI/PRO:

Back in August, I became a contributor at ICI/PRO where I share a monthly blog post.

th-12

My 15 Year Wedding Anniversary:

It seems like just yesterday that my husband and I tied the knot.  15 years of marriage and two boys in middle school this year.  That’s right-I teach Kindergarten all day and I have two middle school boys at home.  Feel sorry for me…

559624_207156669405388_100003331699224_346355_1580383714_n

My Best Friend’s Wedding:

And the grand finale of my year is my best friend’s wedding.  By best friend I mean the friend you can say anything to.  The one that always  knows exactly what you’re thinking.  The one that finishes your sentences for you.  The one that I wish had the same shoe size because she has some really cute shoes.  My best friend is to be married to the man of her dreams on New Year’s Eve 2012 (also my son’s birthday…) and I am her matron of honor.  I can’t wait to be there to celebrate her special day with her!

Happy New Year to all of my loyal followers and fellow cycling instructors!  Here’s to another year filled with great tunes and kick-ass spin classes!  

Here’s the latest playlist: Funky New Year:

4 Responses to “Funky New Year”

  1. Jessica @ Fit Talker December 27, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    Happy new year!
    Great post. It made me smile to recall some of your posts on each of the above mentioned topics. It made me feel like we’re more than blog friends. 🙂
    Have a wonderful time at the wedding and cheers to a great 2013!
    (by the way I think I’m going to steal your recap post idea)

    • chrispins December 27, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

      Thanks Jessica! It’s funny that even though I’ve never met any of my blog friends/followers/fellow instructors, I do feel like we are real life friends! Can’t wait to see your 2013 recap! Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. Jennie December 27, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    How often do you change out your playlists for your classes? I teach 4x/week at the same gym and I try to do a new list every class because I don’t want people to get bored.

    • chrispins December 27, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      H Jennie! I am scheduled for two classes a week and I do use two different playlists for those two classes. I often sub for other instructors or teach an extra class on the weekends, so when I do that I will usually go back to an old playlist or mash a few of my favorite playlists together to fit my ride.

      I have most of the same people in my classes so I do think its important to mix it up.

      If there is a particular song that I really like, I do tend to re-use that in my playlists, especially if I know that it’s one that is brand new and I know it will get a lot of radio time later. I’d rather play it while I can before they get sick of hearing it on the radio. I also use old favorites A LOT.

      Creating four brand new playlists a week would be tough so I would suggest the idea of mashing up some of your favorites every once in a while, or feel free to steal my playlists. There are a ton of instructors sharing great playlists on their blogs, on Facebook and on ITunes and Spotify. If you’re using spotify premium you can use as many playlists as you’d like for 9.99/month. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

