Christmaspins and Speed Demon Cycling Mix

5 Dec

I know I told you that I’m kind of a Scrooge when it comes to playing Christmas songs in my classes.  I don’t do an entire Christmas playlist, but I will throw one or two (ok, maybe even three) Christmas songs into my playlists throughout the month of December.  I try to choose songs that are on the ‘alternative’ side, not the ones you hear every single day on the same radio stations that have been playing them since the day after Halloween.  I’ve been collecting some of my older favorites as well as some new (to me) Christmas tunes to throw into my rides over the next few weeks. Some will be used for hills, flat roads and sprints, and others for cool downs and stretches. Otherss I may just have playing as what I call ‘welcome music’ (you know, during bike set up and the few minutes before class). Check them out here and subscribe if you’d like to see when I update it:

And here’s the playlist for tomorrow night’s class:

8 Responses to “Christmaspins and Speed Demon Cycling Mix”

  1. val December 5, 2012 at 4:02 am #

    james durbin ya hoo

  2. spinningoma December 5, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    I’m thinking of working on a Royal Baby playlist in celebration of William and Kate’s baby. Any suggestions?

    Thanks

    Linda

    PS

    The gym where I teach has banned Halloween and Christmas themed rides and any song that might be considered “religious.”

    • chrispins December 6, 2012 at 2:12 am #

      Hi Linda,
      Sorry for not responding sooner. I had to do some thinking on this one. The first song that came into my head was ‘Lady Madonna’ by the Beatles. I guess it depends on if you are considering songs about babies or parents, or if you’d rather just go the ‘British singer/band” route. Like Adele, Ellie Goulding, Natash Bedingfield, U2, The Who, The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Zeppelin, Queen, Muse.

      You might want to check out my Mother’s Day playlist if you are thinking of those types of songs:
      https://chrispins1.wordpress.com/?s=mothers+day&submit=Search

      I hope that helps! Good luck!
      Chris

  3. Jessica @ Fit Talker December 5, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Hi Chris!
    I typically don’t play any holiday music but personally I do LOVE Christmas Eve in Sarajevo and Wizards in Winter. I also like the song by the Waitresses (can’t think of the name).
    As someone who generally dislikes most christmas music, I thank you for not doing a full holiday ride. 🙂

    • chrispins December 6, 2012 at 1:56 am #

      Good call on the song by the Waitresses! Already added to my list.

  4. Bonnie December 5, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    Hi Chris –

    First, I want to say THANK YOU for all you do. I have followed you for a few months, and I love your playlists. We share a very similar taste in music — and I greatly appreciate you sharing this with us. I am trying to figure out Spotify (I only have the free version) but this latest version of iTunes is making me nuts.

    For Zat You Santa Claus, I have the Smash Mouth version. You should check it out.

    Bonnie

    • chrispins December 6, 2012 at 2:00 am #

      You are so welcome and thanks for commenting! Spotify Free is difficult to navigate as I recall, so you just have to jump in and go Premium. It’s really worth it.
      Love the Smash Mouth version of Zat You Santa Claus-thanks for recommending it! I actually saw them live a few years back when they played at my husband’s work Christmas party. Apparently the CEO’s daughter knew someone in the band.

Leave a Reply

