Elegantly Wasted Cycling Mix

2 Dec

Has this ever happened to you?  You get to the gym to teach your class and there’s some sort of technical issue that keeps things from going on as planned?  I was at the gym this morning taking another instructor’s class and he was unable to play his iPod through the stereo.  Luckily, he had a back up CD with him and the class went off without a hitch.

So I’m going into teaching tomorrow’s class with this brand new Spotify playlist loaded up on my iPod, but I may not be able to use it.  Hopefully someone will have the iPod/stereo thing figured out by the time my class rolls around.  Either way, I have a back up CD just in case, but it just won’t be the same….

Hey, have you updated to iTunes 11 yet?  I’ve been using Spotify for all of my playlists, so I don’t get over to iTunes to create playlists much anymore.  I haven’t updated yet, but I have heard there are a lot of frustrations with it.  Hopefully it’s just a matter of getting used to the new operating system.  If you’re still using it and not liking it, you can always hop on over to Spotify (if you haven’t already).  I’m telling you, it’s cheaper (and now apparently easier) than iTunes.  I promise, you’ll love it!

Now for tomorrow night’s playlist.  I guess you might find it interesting to know how a set about choosing music for my playlists.  First of all, I don’t just randomly choose songs because I like them.  I have my ride in mind first, and then a choose music that will accompany the ride.  Sometimes I may hear a certain song, or someone may remind me of a song I’ve played before and I try to find a way to include it into my playlist.  There are a few songs on this playlist that I chose for a specific reason:

Hallelujah by K.D. Lang:  Spotify user and Chrispins follower Joanne recommended this one to me.   I remember watching K.D. sing this one live on tv at the opening ceremony of the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.  I had chills listening to her sing. I knew I had to use it in my next class. It makes a killer steady hill climb.  I love the Jeff Buckley version, but this version is really beautiful as well.  It’s been tucked away in my iTunes library all this time, so thank you  Joanne for reminding me about it!

Wizards in Winter (Instrumental) by Trans Siberian Orchestra: I’m kind of a Scrooge when it comes to playing Christmas music in my classes.  I absolutely refuse to play an entire playlist of Christmas music.  I feel like we hear it so much for the two months before Christmas, that no one really wants to come to my class and hear more of it.  So I sprinkle it in here and there throughout the month of December.  And this is one of my favorites.  Gotta love TSO!

The Book Of Love by Peter Gabriel:  My cool down song.  One of my regulars mentioned to me today that she plays this song often since hearing it quite some time ago in my class.  It’s another song I had tucked away and can’t wait to use again.  Thank you Bets for the reminder!  I also love the Carolin No version, but there’s something about Peter Gabriel’s voice that just melts my heart.

I’ll Drink To That by Outasight:  Do I need to explain this one?  It’s pretty much STILL on repeat. My (almost) 12 year old told me the other day that he had it stuck in his head all day at school. That’s when I know I’ve overplayed it!   I don’t know what it is I love so much about it.  It kind of reminds me of a cross between fun. and Phillip Phillips.  

Click here to go to my Spotify profile and subscribe to this playlist

Have a fabulous week and wish me luck with the iPod player tomorrow!

I also included this remix of Train’s Drive By as song #2:

3 Responses to “Elegantly Wasted Cycling Mix”

  1. Jessica @ Fit Talker December 3, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Love me some TSO! I can’t stop listening to Little Talks by Of Monsters and Men. totally not my usual type of song, but I can’t stop!

    • Jessica @ Fit Talker December 3, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      While I do like that song, that is totally not the song I meant. I meant It’s Time by Imagine Dragons. Oops!

      • chrispins December 3, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

        I LOVE that song. That was one of my ‘repeats’ a few weeks back. Still can’t get enough either. I also like Little Talks, but not quite as much. And TSO-what’s not to love, right?

Leave a Reply

