I’ll Drink To That Cycling Mix:

29 Nov

 

It’s almost Friday: I’ll drink to that!

Here’s tomorrow night’s playlist with teaching notes.

I hope you’re able to view this one:  I used ‘Call Me’ by Blondie, but it wasn’t showing on the Spotify player. I was able to embed this player for the song from Spotify.  It says ‘undefined’, but when you click the play button, you should be able to hear it.  Let me know if you have trouble.

And here are the (brief) teaching notes:

Cha Cha: Warm up

We Come Running: continue with the warm up and begin to bring it out of the saddle for a standing climb

I’ll Drink To That: (Did I mention that I can’t stop playing this song?) Continue the standing climb, adding more gear.

Maximal Crazy: Seated accelerations

Iberican Jungle: Alternate seated/standing flats

Call Me: Seated flat

California: Heavy standing climb

Gloria: Seated climb

Rock: seated accelerations

Hey, Hey, Hey: Standing climb

Dueling Violins:  Seated climb to a standing climb—>standing flat to a seated flat to finish

What Happens in Vegas: Standing climb

From Me to You: Recovery

Tabata: Seated accelerations: 20 seconds on/10 seconds off x8

Fields of Gold: Cool Down

Not Even The King: Stretch

 

 

 

3 Responses to “I’ll Drink To That Cycling Mix:”

  1. mrsobryan December 1, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    Hi Chris,
    Another great playlist – thanks for sharing! I’m still learning/looking to improve, so would you mind sharing how you cue resistance? For example, on this playlist you have several standing climbs. Would they all be at about the same resistance? Also, do you cue to RPMs?

    • chrispins December 1, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

      Hi Leslie.
      You are most welcome! Always happy to share!
      My standing climbs vary in resistance. Unless it is a very heavy climb, I go by the BPMs of the song. We do not have a way to monitor RPMs on our bikes. I typically add gear throughout the song and ask participants to maintain the pace with the added gear. With heavy climbs like ‘California’ on this particular playlist, I usually start out with a moderate resistance and add gear every 45 seconds or so. The pace does slow by the end of this climb. My riders are used to pedaling to the beat so with these heavy climbs I usually need to remind them not to worry about the beat but to match my pace.
      I hope that helps! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

      • mrsobryan December 2, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

        Thanks!! That’s helpful info.

Leave a Reply

