Anything Could Happen Cycling Mix

21 Oct

Hey there!   I guess it’s come down to me posting both of my weekly playlists in one post.  I hope you don’t mind.  Right now, it’s been working for me, so I think I’ll keep at it and see how it goes.  I usually am able to entertain you with at least one other post during the week as well.

In addition to the two playlists I’m sharing, I must tell you what’s been on repeat this week. We drove a few hours yesterday to see a Celtics vs. Knicks pre-season game, and I drove my husband and kids nuts in the car listening to this one:

It works for a standing or seated hill, or a combination of both.  Love it.

Since putting together playlists for cycling classes is kind of my ‘thing’, most people think I’m on the cutting edge of all the music that’s out there.  Nothing really could be farther from the truth.  I don’t actually spend a lot of time listening to the radio.  I do watch iTunes for the newest releases, but sometimes, really great songs just slip by unnoticed.  You’d really be surprised at where and how I come across new music sometimes.  The other day I was working in my classroom with one of my fellow kindergarten teachers and I turned on Pandora radio.   (Hint: if you want a really cool, mellow station to listen to while you work, try ‘Jason Mraz Radio’.)  Anyway, THIS song came on and I had never heard it before.  Apparently it’s from one of the ‘Twilight’ movies, which I have not seen.  That might explain why I haven’t heard it I guess.

I played it in the car the other day and both of my kids start singing along.  WHAT? ‘Boys, have you heard this song before?’ ( I totally thought I had stumbled upon something new I guess).  ‘Ummmmm…..yeah mom.  Where have you been?  They only play it on the radio ALL THE TIME!’  Oh.  Well then.  I really need to listen to the radio more.( And my kids really need to share their music finds with me!)  Apparently it was released about a year ago.  Like I said, these things slip right past me sometimes.  Either way, it’s really pretty and earned a spot in my cool down/stretch  this week:

Here are my two latest playlists:

**I’m using screen shots as well as the embedded playlists becuase sometimes all of the songs don’t carry over onto the playlist.  To listen to the entire playlist, head on over to my Spotify page by following the link on the right side bar. 🙂

6 Responses to “Anything Could Happen Cycling Mix”

  1. Jill October 22, 2012 at 1:53 am #

    Any chance you would share your teaching notes for these playlists?

    • chrispins October 22, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

      Hi Jill, I will try to update the post some time this week! Thanks for checking it out. 🙂

      • Lisa Goldman November 28, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

        Hey Chris — I just listened to Catch My Breath today and there’s some really great songs in there. Did you ever end up posting the teaching notes for this playlist? I don’t mean to be greedy, so please don’t go to extra work on my behalf if you didn’t. But if you did, or have ’em handy, I’d love to see!
        As always, thanks very very much!

        Oh and PS, two questions for you:

        (1) Curious how you cue the Tabata drills. Always the same? Sometimes they go great for me, sometimes not…

        (2) Do you happen to know of any way to easily figure out the beat & therefore cadence of a song just by listening/seeing it on the screen? I don’t have a bike at home, and sometimes it’s hard for me to judge whether something would be better as a climb on the half beat, or a faster flat double time or what, it would depend if the half beat dropped too slow, or double time too fast, etc. (I hate to have hills drop lower than a 60 rpm, or flats more than ~110rpm).

        THANKS!!

      • chrispins November 29, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

        Hi Lisa!

        I guess I never even posted that one on the blog? Hmmm…must have been around report card week. I searched but couldn’t find it (or my teaching notes). If I find some extra time I’ll shoot them to you in an email.

        As for the Tabatas, I do use them at the end of each class and I tend to keep it the same each time. Always seated accelerations, with a pretty good amount of resistance. I always interject a lot of motivational cues here to keep people going. Otherwise, I know my regulars won’t push themselves. And because we do them in each class, they’ve come to expect it and even enjoy the challenge. At least I think that’s the case…

        I really don’t have a method for figuring out the cadence or RPM’s of a song. I have heard there is an app for it in iTunes, but I’ve never used it. I have also tried searching to see if Spotify offered something similiar when someone else questioned me about it, but unfortunately, they do not.
        I do have my own spin bike at home, so I will try out many songs before I use them in class. Our bikes do not have RPM monitors on them. I know this sounds crazy, but I snap my fingers along with the music and it really does work pretty well as a sort of ‘metronome’ for me. It drives my husband crazy because I’m always doing it when I hear music at home or in the car, or even out in public. 🙂

        I hope I’ve answered some of your questions!

        Enjoy the weekend!

  2. Irene Sanders October 23, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I love Christina Perry….do you have Jar of Heart by her? That is such a pretty song. Thanks for sharing the playlists!!!

    • chrispins October 24, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

      That’s funny actually. We were on 12 hour road trip last April and that song played on the radio nonstop. My kids kept saying that it sounds like she’s singing ‘jar of farts’, so that’s what I think of every time I hear it. Boys….

Leave a Reply

