Woo Hoo Cycling Mix

28 Sep

I’m often asked the question: ‘How many cycling classes do you teach a week?’  I am scheduled to teach 2 classes a week and I get an extra Saturday class about once a month.  I also sub quite a bit, so it ends up averaging more like three classes per week.  I’ve had weeks where I teach 4-6 classes, so it just depends.

Up until recently, on nights that I wasn’t teaching, I was taking spin classes from other instructors.  I felt like my body was on autopilot.  I could spin in my sleep.  So I decided that on the nights I wasn’t teaching, I would take some other classes at the gym.  I’ve probably taken every class they offer at one point or another, but I decided that I would go back and give Pilates and Boot Camp a try.  Last Thursday night I did Pilates and Boot Camp back to back.  I woke up early Friday morning and I seriously felt as though I’d been run over by a truck.  My entire body ached.  I went back for more this week, and I’m still pretty sore, but I feel like I’m already getting stronger.

Of course I LOVE teaching my cycling classes, but I’m glad I decided to add some (old) new workouts into the routine.

If you find yourself doing the same workout all the time, try mixing it up once in a while.  Your body will be happy that you did! (And maybe just a little sore….)

Other than cycling, what are your favorite workouts?

Here’s Friday’s playlist:

5 Responses to “Woo Hoo Cycling Mix”

  1. scyogagirl September 28, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    My favorite workouts at the gym include Power Yoga (for when I want to feel like I have really pushed myself) and Deep Stretch/Yin Yoga (for when I need to undo the tightness I incur from Spinning and Running).

  2. chrispins September 28, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    I wish my gym offered those classes. They sound great!

  3. Maureen Flynn September 28, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    I love boot camp, kickboxing and yoga. Thanks for posting your playlist. You always have the greatest music.

  4. chrispins September 28, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Thanks Maureen! I haven’t done kickbox in a long time…maybe I’ll try that again too. 🙂

  5. Lynette September 29, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    kettlebell, yin yoga, and iron core. Beauties.

Leave a Reply

