Do You Do It In The Dark? / Hit Me Up Cycle Mix

23 Sep

(and indoor cycling in the dark!)

I had to give a shout out to the beginning of my favorite season.  I’m in love with everything about Fall!

 I’m kind of a homebody, so I really don’t mind when the days begin to get shorter.  I teach a class at 6 pm, so through the Fall and Winter months, we turn out the lights and cycle in the dark.

 I’ve heard that some instructors don’t teach with the lights out because they feel that it’s unsafe. I can understand the concern that you may not be able to watch your students as carefully.  We do have just enough light coming from the hallway windows at the gym that I can see all that I need to.

Cycling class with the lights out seem to create a whole new dimension of energy, don’t you think? I feel like my students are more focused.  I would also argue that some students feel more comfortable because they aren’t on ‘display’.

So what do you think?  Do you ‘do it in the dark’?

Hit Me Up: Warm up

Grace Kelly: Continue with the warm up and begin to bring it out of the saddle for a standing climb

Shanty: Standing flat

Sandstorm: Seated accelerations

What Makes a Good Man: Standing climb

THe Temples of Syrinx:  Seated flat

Crunchy Granola: Standing climb

Hope: Seated flat

Swing Low Sweet Chariot: Alternate seated/standing climb

Gold on the Ceiling: 8 count —> 4 count jumps

Les  ‘La-bas’: Seated climb

When Your Falling: Steepest hill of the evening: Standing climb

After Hours: Seated/Standing Flat

Chain of Command: Recover

Tabata: seated accelerations (20 seconds x8), 10 second recoveries

Man In The Mirror: Cool Down

Mad World: Stretch

10 Responses to “Do You Do It In The Dark? / Hit Me Up Cycle Mix”

  1. val September 23, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Aww you love football whata gal! Sandstorm? Haven’t heard that in a long time. Have you ever heard ‘Want u back’ by Cher Lloyd? I love it don’t know if you’d think it was spin “worthy” Have a great Sunday. I’ll be watching football TOO. LOL Also I’ll be watching Nascar.

    • chrispins September 23, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

      Football came with the clip-art. You know I’m not a fan… I’ll check out the Cher Lloyd song and let you know what I think. Now go watch football and Nascar. 🙂

  2. val September 23, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    Hey what country is this site from it says I posted at almost 1 o’clock in the afternoon?

    • chrispins September 23, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

      I know, I must have it set to the wrong time zone. Not sure how to fix that.

  3. Lori September 23, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    We always spin in the dark…with black lights so you can still see the participants…I agree that it’s more about the ride & not worrying about being on display. 🙂

    • chrispins September 23, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      Love the black light idea! I’m going to have to look into that.

  4. gr8tfulm September 23, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Hi Chris,
    I also love fall 🙂 here in California we still have warm days but usually drops at night and you can now leave the windows
    Open. I love the fall colors and the new tv shows. Like you, I record them, my favorite is HGTV .
    I also teach with the lights off! I agree with you, the energy is more intense. New riders feel more comfortable.one of the clubs I teach at had dimmers so there’s just enough light. I wait till everyone is set up, including new cyclists then lights down. I started a cycle boot camp and lights stay on since we do ‘circuit style training.
    Thanks for your tip on Spotify. Another ? Is how do you post playlists?
    Have great ‘fall day
    Marianne

    • chrispins September 23, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

      Hey Marianne! Thanks for commenting! I love HGTV as well. My new fav show is ‘Love It or List It’. I always try to guess before they make their final decision and I’m wrong pretty much 95% of the time.

      Had a lovely Fall day today: decorated my front porch, took a long walk with the hubs and went for a Sunday drive. Oh, and I made chili in the crockpot. I ❤ Fall. 🙂

      If you are looking to post your playlists to your Facebook profile, just click on 'Share' on the top left of your playlist screen. To post it in a group, like the 'Pingsters', right click on the playlist title at the top left of screen and choose either 'copy HTTP link' or 'copy embed code' and then paste into you post. Not sure which one it is, and probably either of them would work.

      I hope that helps!

  5. rickspins (aka - Rick Gingras, Pittsfield MA) September 24, 2012 at 1:29 am #

    Great mix. I’m stealing some ideas (as usual)! P.S. – We always do Spinning in a darkened room, just some very dim wall lighting. Great for focused climbs!! Nicely done, as always, Chris.

Leave a Reply

