Keeps Gettin’ Better Cycling Mix

16 Sep

So, I guess it’s official:

This is the message I got when I logged into my Ping account the other day. 😦  Apparently, Ping is was not all that iTunes had imagined it would be and it kind of flopped.  But for cycling instructors creating and sharing playlists, it has been a terrific resource. I’ve shared and received so much great music over the past few years using Ping and I’ve created some ‘friendships’ there as well.  I actually just topped the 300 follower mark. Needless to say, I will miss it.

Apparently, with its new upgrade, iTunes will be working more closely with Facebook and Twitter to take the place of the social network that Ping offered.  No one is really sure yet how this will work.  I guess we will just have to wait until October 1st to see what happens.  I’m thinking we may just like it even more, although those 300 people will need to find each other all over again!

In the meantime,( I hope they don’t mind my promoting this), one of the ‘Pingers’ has created a Facebook group called ‘Former Cycling Pingers’, so be sure to check that out to see many of your old Ping friends and what they’re listening to. 🙂

So obviously, at least for now, I am not going to be linking my blog to iTunes.  But I am linking to Spotfiy, so get on over there and check it out if you haven’t already!  I’m telling you…it’s really great.  Trust me on this one.  Here is my latest playlist with teaching notes:

Always Be: Warm up in the saddle

Keeps Getting Better: Continue warm up and bring it out of the saddle when you’re ready

Undefeated: Standing climb

Hello: Seated accelerations @ :30 (30 seconds); 2:00 (30 seconds); 3:00 (30 seconds) and 4:30 (30 seconds).  I give riders the choice to come up out of the saddle between accelerations for a standing flat or remain in the saddle for an active recovery.

A Beautiful Day:  I just found this song and I think it is so pretty.  I love the lyrics so I had to somehow incorporate it into this playlist.  It’s going to be an alternating seated/standing climb.

Jump on My Shoulders:  Love just about everything from this band.  This one is another good climb, adding more gear every minute or so.  Watch out for an F-bomb at the end of the song.

Trinity: Seated climb.  This is one of those epic songs.  I love using movie music to motivate riders to climb.

My Fault:  Standing climb, adding gear every minute

System: Standing flat

L.O.V.E. Seated fast flat

Mush, Mush: Seated accelerations at 1:00 (25); 2:30 (25 seconds); 4:00 (25 seconds), 5:00 (20 seconds)

Bad:  Thanks Marianne for turning me on to this one!  I love the energy!  Standing flat

Nightingale Song: recovery

Tabata: seated accelerations 20 seconds (x8) with 10 second recoveries

Simple LIfe: Cool Down

Breathe: Continue cool down, stretch

2 Responses to “Keeps Gettin’ Better Cycling Mix”

  1. Jessica @ Fit Talker September 17, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    Question about spotify…do you not own the music? It seems to me like you have to play it through a mobile device (not an ipod). Is this correct?
    Thanks!

    • chrispins September 17, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Hi Jessica! I guess you don’t officially ‘own’ the music, but you can play it anytime or anyhwere you’d like, so that’s just a good, right?

      You do have to have a wireless connection to stream music.

      Here is list of the devices it is compatable with:
      http://www.spotify.com/us/mobile/overview/

Leave a Reply

