Moral Support and a New Playlist

13 Sep

I don’t know about where you all live, but it’s crazy hot here in Central New York today!  I really wish fall weather would get here already.

Autumn is my favorite season, but unfortunately, it’s way to short around here.  I love the start of a new school year, the changing colors, the crisp cool air, new seasons of my favorite tv shows.  Not that I watch that much tv, but there are a few shows that I love and I usually end up DVRing (is that a word??) them and then watching them on the weekends.  So for now, my TV has been stuck on the same old episodes of Diners Drive-Ins and Dives or if my husband gets a hold of the remote, some political news station.

The other night we were watching that super annoying guy, what’s his name?? Bill O’Reilly? when this cute commercial came on:

(Remember that 100 mile ride I did back in May?  I like to think I looked a little more poised than this girl, but the guy totally has my husband nailed.  It’s all about the pizza really, isn’t it?)

Let’s get on with the new playlist.  Here it is in Spotify:

 

And here it is in iTunes: (click the pic for a link)

 

6 Responses to “Moral Support and a New Playlist”

  1. val September 14, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    Hey I like Bill O’Reilly. LOL

  2. chrispins September 14, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Like him or hate him, he’s pretty annoying either way. 🙂

  3. Courtney September 14, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Great playlist. Thanks!

  4. Lisa Goldman September 16, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    Hi Chris –
    So I’m trying Spotify. Today I used it “offline” for the first time. I had a playlist and was just riding on my own, experimenting, and had a few questions:
    — Sometimes it lagged between songs, or even worse, in the midst of a song. Have you ever had that happen? I wasn’t streaming, so it couldn’t have been a connection issue. I don’t mind that if I’m on my own, but I can’t have that when teaching obviously!
    — I think I inadvertently hit “shuffle” somehow since it seemed to play out of order sometimes, but I’m not sure how I managed that. Have you ever had that?
    — I don’t understand the various icons within Spotify. What’s the “chain link” next to some songs? What’s the “music note”? There were some others I couldn’t figure out, but I’m forgetting them now… Would be nice if they explained it when I moused over, but it doesn’t seem to…

    Thanks for your help!!! 🙂

    – Lisa

    • chrispins September 16, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      Just another thought until you get the ‘offline’ thing figured out… Have you tried streaming it (not using offline mode)? Does your facility that you teach at offer free wifi? I’m wondering if the same thing (Lagging between or during songs) happens when you stream?

  5. chrispins September 16, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Hi Lisa! Glad to see that you are giving Spotify a try. Sorry you’re having some trouble though. So, as I said in my ICI/PRO post, I AM pretty technologically challenged, BUT I will try my best to help you with any issues. (I’ve actually suprised myself with some of the Spotify advice I’ve already given that has helped others solve issues…who knew?)

    Here are some quick answers for you. They are kind of out of order:

    1. Yes, I have had my songs begin to play out of order, and I assume that I had inadvertently hit the ‘shuffle’ button. I’m always hitting the wrong buttons on my phone. Drives me crazy! Hopefully that is all there was to that problem. Just hit shuffle again and you should be good if that happens.

    2. I found a great chart for the Spotify Icons in “Spotify For Dummies”. I’m thinking I should buy the book. For now, I am a member of their ‘group’ on FB which does offer some good, free info. Here’s a link to the chart for you. I think I’ll print it off and hang it near my computer:

    http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/descriptions-and-meanings-of-spotify-icons.html

    3. The problem with the lagging between and in the middle of the songs is the most tricky issue, which I don’t really know if I have an answer to. I have two suggestions of my own and a few that I found when trying to investigate the issue.
    -make sure when you are in ‘offline mode’ that you have your phone settings in ‘airplane mode’. Any calls or texts or notifications you recieve can interfere with the signal otherwise.
    -check to be sure that you have not only set the palylist to ‘offline mode’ in Spotify, but also have set it to ‘offline’ on your phone.
    *I have read that even though you are offline, you can still experience a connection issue. There does not seem to be an easy answer to this problem. Making sure you have the latest version of Spotify, or reinstalling the app on your phone could fix it? The people that I found with this problem online all seemed to be using Droids for some reason. hmmm….sorry I wasn’t as much help with this one, but I hope I was able to fix some of your troubles!

Leave a Reply

