Exciting News and a New Playlist!

8 Sep

So, what would you like first?  A new playlist, or my exciting news?  Ok, exciting news it is, because I’m pretty sure I can’t hold on to it any longer.

I am one of the newest contributors over at Indoorcycleinstructor.com!!  I guess since I’ve been ‘officially introduced’ here in this post by John MacGowan, I can tell you a little bit about it.  I’ve been keeping under wraps for a good part of the summer.

As you know, I’m passionate about indoor cycling, but music is kind of my ‘thing’.  So as a contributor at ICI-PRO, my posts will be about music.  And if you’ve been following my blog here, you know that I’ve recently started delving a little more deeply into Spotify.  So my first posts will deal specifically with finding my way around Spotify and using it in my classes.

I’m not there as a Spotify ‘expert’, but as someone just like many of you, that maybe wants to give it a try, but might be a little intimidated.  I’ll be there to share my experiences with you and answer any questions you may have.

ICI-PRO is an amazing resource for indoor cycling instructors, so if you’re not already a member, check it out.  There is both paid and free content there.  My first few posts will be in the free content area, so come on over and see what it’s all about.

Of course I will continue with this blog and sharing my playlists with you as well! 🙂  Here’s the latest (in Spotify first of course, but keep scrolling for the iTunes Link:

Here is a link to the same playlist in iTunes!

11 Responses to “Exciting News and a New Playlist!”

  1. Irene Sanders September 8, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    Awesome for you!!!

  2. Ash September 8, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    LOVE that they are recognizing your contribution to the indoor cycling arena. A HUGE congratulations! HATE that I am feeling like your blog will be on the hook, no contributions will be for strictly the people but to also gain movement for IC/PRO. Just sayin’ that was part of your true beauty. You worked for you. Unless you were not interested in posting your rides any longer on this blog I cannot imagine that ICI/PRO will look upon this blog favorably (YOUR RIDES). They will not want you to water down any of the members they may gain because you joined forces with them. After all, if we are getting your excellant playlists and music guidance for free here why would we join ICI/PRO? Maybe there are lots of reasons, I will check it out! Looking forward to KFM; Keeping Forward Motion…always…thanks for such good stuff – ICI is lucky to get you girl!

    • chrispins September 8, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      Thanks! I am confident that my blog will not change in any way. I won’t be posting my regular playlists on ICI-PRO, so I will continue to post them here. There is a lot of content over there that is not music related for instructors. Definitely worth checking out.
      I would not have committed to ICI/PRO if it meant chaning my blog in any way, so rest assured, the music and notes will keep on flowing! 🙂

  3. gr8tfulm September 8, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    Chris,
    1st things 1st and that’s a big congrats. I know that along with teaching, cycling has become a big part of your life. You are truly dedicated in your own fitness and sharing your experiences has been fun to follow. So thank you for that…. A few things if I can share. In some ways I agree with ASH. I like John M and I have been a follower for the last 2 years and a PAST member of his site ICI/PRO….. But for me some of his and His and his past partner, Jennifer Sage MUSIC is not my taste. Jennifer Sage is one of the most highly sought after ‘leaders’ in the spinning industry. As is John, both have countless hours and years devoted to this subject. Their contributors on both their sites have been useful and your right when you say it’s not all about the music. There is so much more to teaching and leading a class then just plugging in your I-pod and pedaling at 120 rpm’s or climbing at 50rpm’s. ( if you want to kill your knees by all means ride this way but you and I know that’s not how to teach a class) so my point is there is useful and much needed info on these sites and you take what you need and leave what you don’t. When I follow someone it usually is for playlist ideas and music. I listen to songs a lot. I love putting playlists together but sometimes need that guidance on what’s going to make these cyclists really work really want to come back to MY classes. You can get all of the above by 1) following wonderful bloggers like you 2) following others on Facebook and going to the other FREE sites on Facebook like, Indoor cycling Instructor and Jennifer Sages is site on FB too. Schwinn has a site as does MADD DOGG , spinning music. I have made many new friends at these sites, w have helped each other in all areas of instructing great cycling classes. Both John and Jennifer’s sites are GREAT for additional knowledge in the art of cycling, both had great contributors, but one difference is they are certified in Mad DOGG Or ‘spinning’ and some conflict with other certifications. Myself, feel that instead of PAYING you can join Pedal-on.com for free and get everything needed to be an awesome instructor! I think it’s wonderful you are a contributor, you are ‘real’ your rides are ‘real’ and you have an array of different taste in music, which a lot of your fans like. Too much or all techno or deep trance music is really what alot of what others don’t like!
    Facebook has a lot of great resources and Spotify too. Julz Arney is the MASTER on learning Spotify and she does offer ‘beginner’ seminars. I also heard PING is staying put for now! So there are a ton of resources available at NO COST! The ‘free’ info is limited.
    Sorry I rambled on and on but I will continue to follow you here and on fb but can’t pay for another group. I pay $9.95 for Spotify and that alone pays for itself in the music I’m getting! I just wish I could make cd’s and/or put the playlist on my I-pod to ‘keep’
    Wishing you tons of success in your new adventure, ICI/PRO is lucky to have YOU! PLEASE don’t change your BLOG!!
    Ride On girl,
    Marianne

    • chrispins September 8, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      So, tell us how you really feel Marianne. Just kidding :).

      Like I said, my blog will not change and it will not become an advertisement for ICI-Pro either. The posts I share here will be unlike the posts that I share on ICI/PRO.

      I know that there are a lot of instructors out there like you and I that spend hours searching for music and browsing free sites and blogs that can help us to become better instructors. I also realize that the some of the instructors that I am helping don’t have the time to search around the internet for the sources that they need, So having that all in one place such as ICI/PRO is well worth the money for them.

      I know that I have a lot of great information to share with other instructors, and I love being able to do that in any way I can. This was just another opportunity for me to do that and reach out to more people.

      Thanks for your comments and keep sharing that great music on iTunes! (BTW, I had not heard that Ping was sticking around. That is certainly good news because I don’t plan on abandoning it, I’m just not purchasing as much music there since I’ve started using Spotify).

      • gr8tfulm September 8, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

        Lol Chris, I know I rambled on and on… Sorry. I’m not purchasing as much either, they have a lot of my hard earned $$. Now that I’m working more (35 hrs @ my nursing job and teaching 6 classes) I’ll rely on reusing my playlists as I have well over 100 and pages and pages of notes. Sites like what you are
        Contributing more too wi be useful. In know way was I being negative about the other sites just saying how I see it too! You will be great and you know your supporters and followers will continue to do so! There’s something out there for everyone! Got to love that! 🙂

  4. Lynette September 8, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Congratulations! I am a member of ICI/Pro so I look forward to your contributions!

  5. Jessica @ Fit Talker September 10, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Congrats Chris, that’s so exciting!
    I had no clue that people had such strong feelings about ICI/Pro. I think I may have checked it out a few times but got frustrated that all the content I wanted was behind a pay-for-use wall. But it’s a business, so I get that.
    Very impressive and keep up the GREAT work!!

    • chrispins September 10, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      Thanks Jessica! And kuddos on your big ride! I think I see a 100 miler in your future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

