Ladder Profile Playlist

21 Aug

Last night’s class profile was pilfered from Pedal-On quite some time ago.  Sorry I can’t give credit to whomever came up with the profile, I honestly don’t remember.  I do love the ladder style profiles for class and this is one of my favorites. If you’re an instructor and you haven’t checked out Pedal-On, then you need to head on over there and see what you’re missing!  If you are reading this and you are the one responsible for this particular profile, THANKS!!!!! My class and I loved it! ( I think I actually tweaked it a little bit to fit my needs, and obviously added my own music).

So here’s how the profile works:

SF=seated flat; STC=standing climb; SEC=seated climb; STF=standing flat, R=recovery

Warm up: The first song here was my warm up.  In retrospect, I would have had a longer warm up time, because we got right into it pretty fast and furious after that.

Interval 1: Fast Seated Flats

:30 SF/ :30 R        1:00 SF/ :30 R          2:00 SF/1:00 R          3:30 SF/1:00 R

Interval 2: Standing Climbs

3:30 STC/1:00 R          2:00 STC/1:00 R         1:00 STC/:30 R          :30 STC/:30 R

Interval 3: Seated Climbs

:30 SEC/ :30 R        1:00 SEC/ :30 R          2:00 SEC/1:00 R          3:30 SEC/1:00 R

Interval 4: Standing Flats

3:30 STF/1:00 R          2:00 STF/1:00 R         1:00 STF/:30 R          :30 STF/:30 R

Each interval is 10 minutes long.  Because my class is an hour, we added a little recovery at the end of the last interval and then a TABATA song at the end.  It was good times….

Here’s the playlist that I used:

Listen in iTunes!

Here it is in Spotify-ha!  I got it to work!  If you’re on Spotify, go ahead and add me as one of your ‘people’ to access more of my playlists.  I plan on using much more of Spotify in the future, so hopefully I can bring some of you on board with me!

12 Responses to “Ladder Profile Playlist”

  1. suek@stny.rr.com August 21, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Hey Chris!

    How do you teach your standing climbs and standing flats. Do you have them add gear each time up on the STC? Do you maintain gear on the SEC and add cadence instead?

    Thanks.

    • chrispins August 22, 2012 at 12:47 am #

      Good question. For the standing climbs, on the 30 second recoveries, I had them go to a standing position one and keep the gear on, just slowing the pace a bit to stretch the legs. For the 1 minute recoveries, I had them come back to the saddle to recover and then add gear before returning to a standing climb. We also added gear each minute or so on the longer climbs.

      Standing flats are tricky. I tell them to add enough gear so that they feel like they are in control at all times. Enough so that they are not bouncing and they don’t feel like they are mashing down on the pedals like a stairmaster! I also tell them that if they simply cannot keep up the pace and maintain proper form, it is better for them to add a bit more gear and slow to a more comfortable pace than to continue with poor form.

      For seated climbs I ask them to begin by adding gear until they feel like they are on a hill. Sounds simple, but otherwise, many of them will still be on a flat road. Then I have them add gear as we ride. I normally will tell them to match my cadence. If they are going faster (or slower), then we are not on the same hill.

      I hope that answers your question!

  2. Lynette August 26, 2012 at 3:57 am #

    Hello Chris! Thanks so much for sharing this profile. I am going to give it a go on my Tuesday night class… Quick question. In segment one (seated flat) how did you teach this? Did you have them ride at a fast cadence, without any bouncing, and a significant amount of resistance that makes this somewhat challenging? I envision teaching this segment by having them reach their “cadence threshold” somewhere around 100 rpm and maintaining it throughout the work efforts. Any feedback greatly appreciated!
    It also sounds like you did your climbs by resistance loading. Did you do any cadence building?

    A big thank you for all of your posts, which always help to inspire and motivate!
    Lynette

    • chrispins August 26, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      Hi Lynette,

      Thanks for commenting. Yes, for the seated flats, I ask them to add resistence to feel like we are ‘on the road’. No bouncing, and in control at all times. The effort on the working parts of this profile are designed to be done at an ‘anaerobic’ level. 100 rpm would definintely be as high as I would go here. Unfortunately, we don’t have monitors on the bikes so it is difficult for me to convey rpms. I do try to cue responsibly.

      I do a lot of resistance loading during my climbs. With the longer climbs I ask for some cadence maintenance and then building cadence at the end of the climb.

      I hope that makes sense. 🙂

  3. Daphne Gillie August 27, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    thanks for posting! I’m always looking for new ideas. How did you finally get Spotify to work? I’ve been playing around with it. It works for me on my computer, e.g. I can access other people’s playlists, but not on my iphone. Do you use your spotify to play your music in class? THanks for any info.!

    • chrispins August 27, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      Hi Daphne. I guess it was just a matter of sitting down and playing around with Spotify that helped me learn a little more about it. Believe me, I’m not sure I’d call what I’m doing so far ‘making it work’. I still have a ton to learn. I did upgrade to the Premium membership which will allow me to use the playlists that I create in my classes. With the free membership you are still able to ‘follow’, ‘share’ and listen. I think you can also stream, but with Free, they throw in ads which really wouldn’t work in a cycling clas. I really do think I will actually be saving money by paying the 9.99 a month compared to what I was paying iTunes and eMusic over the course of a month for music. Feel free to contact me with any other questions you may have if you are getting into Spotify and I will try my best to help you out!

  4. Kristen Bradish August 29, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Thanks for posting this – where can i get access to the Ultralife Music? When I imported the playlist in spotify it told me that it was not available…Thank you!

    • chrispins August 29, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      Hi Kristen,
      I’m not sure why it is unavailable to you. Try searching Spotify by the Title, Album or Artist to find it in their library then adding it back to the playlist. I had a similiar problem when a song did not sync over to my iPod, but when I searched for it and added it again it worked for me. These are the kinds of things I’m finding annoying, but hopefully we can get the glitches worked out. I hope that helps!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fire In Your New Shoes (Ladder Profile), Ring the Alarm And A Bonus Playlist | Chrispins - November 9, 2013

    […] This week I used one of my favorite profiles, freshened up with some new tunes. You can find the profile notes in the original post —-> HERE. […]

  2. Ladder Profile Redux + Everything Will Change Cycling Mix | Chrispins - February 5, 2014

    […] keep it fresh for my classes by changing up the music. You can find the profile and teaching notes here. Here is the playlist that I […]

  3. Summer Ladders Profile | Chrispins - August 18, 2014

    […] times already and it’s always a hit. You can see ride notes and playlists for this profile here and […]

  4. 2014: My Year In Review and Top Songs | Chrispins - January 1, 2015

    […] 4. Ladder Profile Playlist […]

Leave a Reply

