iTunes Ping and Spotify

30 Jul

I just heard on iTunes that Ping will no longer be offered after this fall. 😦  I’m so sad because while I never had a problem searching for and finding new music, Ping put all of that right in one place for me and it made searching for and sharing new music so much easier!

So last night I headed over to Spotify, which I had pretty much abandoned in the past few months, and played around a little bit with it.  Not only am I finding it difficult to navigate, but it is not allowing me to do many things that I think it should. I was able to embed one complete playlist:

but when I tried to embed my last playlist, it only copied a few songs:

Also,  I keep getting the error message ‘Failed to enable Spotify Social’.  I’m assuming Spotify Social would be a decent replacement for iTunes Ping for me.

So I’ll keep plugging at it.  Does anyone use Spotify?  Are you having any of the same problems?

11 Responses to “iTunes Ping and Spotify”

  1. Lori July 30, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    I found I had the same issues with Spotify. I was unable to move the music to a program that I could burn. I will try again though since we are losing Ping

    • chrispins July 30, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      I’m still planning on using iTunes to create playlists and transfer them to my iPod. I’m hoping that there will still be a way to embed playlists on the blog. Before Ping they actually had a pretty good set up. I will miss ping for the sharing capacity. Thanks for commenting!

      • Lori July 30, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

        I think we will all miss Ping. I actually wrote to Apple to tell them that this was a huge mistake. I can’t tell you how many songs I have bought after listening to Ping. Bad marketing move on them.

  2. Rick Gingras July 30, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    You probably already know this but I seem to find lots of good stuff using last.fm (http://www.last.fm/). Cheers, Rick

  3. chrispins July 30, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    Hey ,Thanks Rick! I had not heard of that site!

  4. Jen July 31, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I think to use Spotify Social you need to have a Facebook account. It will then link up what your ‘friends’ are listening and you can share playlists with them.

    • chrispins July 31, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

      Yes, I’ve realized that after playing around with it a little. I am keeping Spotify as a last resort because I really don’t want to get back on Facebook. I’m wondering if I could just set up some sort of group or page on facebook where instructors can hook up to become ‘friends’ and share through Spotify, without actually having to have a personal Facebook account.

  5. Jill August 6, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    Would you be willing to share your notes for this playlist?

    • chrispins August 6, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      Check the original post for teaching notes. 🙂 Here’s the link:
      https://chrispins1.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/profileteaching-notes-for-olylmpic-playlist/

    • Lori August 6, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      Has anyone heard of Shazam? This is on my iphone as an application but I noticed you can have a friends list. Not sure how it works with the sharing part…

      • chrispins August 6, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

        That looks interesting, but I checked out the site and it doesn’t seem to give much information about music sharing. I didn’t realize Shazam was the app that allows you to identify music with your iphone. I’ll have to check it out further when I get more time. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

