Blister In The Sun Spin Mix

23 Jun

School’s out for summer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   Yay!  Today was officially my last day of work until September!  I love my job, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t love having a few months off in the summer.  Lots of big plans as usual: camping, vacationing, relaxing.  In honor of my last day, I put together a little summer playlist.  Here ya go:

Listen in iTunes!

Here’s the lowdown:

The Sound Of Sunshine: Warm up

Chasing The Sun: Warm up—>standing flat

Summer Breeze: Alternate seated/standing climb.  This gets pretty steep here…

Boys Of Summer:  Accelerations on the chorus (x3).  The first two are twenty seconds, the last one is around 30.

Grease Megamix: Nothing says summer like Grease.  I LOVE this movie.  Three different songs all rolled into one.  1. You’re the One That I Want: Seated flat   2.  Greased Lightning: Seated flat: pick up the pace   3.  Summer Lovin’: Standing climb.

Bang On The Drum:  Seated flat

Sunglasses at Night: Standing climb

Blister In The Sun: Standing climb with accelerations on the chorus

Sunny Hours: Alternate seated/standing climb

School’s Out: Standing climb

Summer of ’69 (Such a good year…the summer I was born!)  Alternate seated/standing climb

Chasing Summers: 30 second seated accelerations

I actually switched out this song at the last minute with Everybody’s Free To Wear Sunscreen (which the class really enjoyed).  We made it a heavy standing climb.

Tabata: 10 second recovery with 20 second accelerations (x8)

Here Comes the Sun: Cool Down

For The Summer: Stretch

10 Responses to “Blister In The Sun Spin Mix”

  1. gidduip June 24, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Thanks for sharing that Wear Your Sunscreen song. It’s a fun one. So, you climbed to that? I was thinking of using it as cooldown but I might try it as a climb. Thanks for continuing to share with us.

    • chrispins June 24, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

      You’re welcome! I used the radio edit which is just over 3 minutes. We did a heavy climb, adding gear every 30-45 seconds. There is a little background beat to it, and the class got a kick out of it. It’s certainly not a song I would use very often, but I thought it was appropriate for the theme.
      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      • giddyup June 24, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

        I can’t get my paws on that radio edit you linked to because it’s not available in the Canada iTunes store. Grrr. I did find a version byBaz Luhrmann that’s 5 minutes that could work. Thanks again.

  2. giddyup June 24, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Hi Chris, I have a question. How do you capture the screen shot of your itumes playlist. I can’t figure it out. 🙂

    • chrispins June 24, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      I use a mac, so I hit command+shift+4 (then you highlight the area you want to capture, let go and it takes a shot) and then it saves to my desktop. From there I add it in like a photo to the blog. Not sure how it would work if you don’t use a mac though. Try Googling ‘How to take a screenshot’ and look for your specific computer??? I hope that helps!

      • giddyup June 24, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

        Yes that helps. I’m not on a Mac so that’s part of my problem. My screenshots are the entire screen and I haven’t figured out how to get the playlist area only. I think you can only do it on a Mac. Thanks

      • chrispins June 24, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

        You know, they say once you go Mac, you never go back. 🙂

  3. giddyup June 24, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    OMG! You must know me so well becuase I’m currently looking at the Mac site. All I use my computer for is music, photo’s video etc so it only makes sense. Right? haha. Thanks again.

  4. J.J. June 27, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    You’re my hero. With tomorrow’s weather predictions in the 100s, I was searching for songs with “heat”, “sun”, “summer”, “hot” for my playlist. You did my work or me!

    • chrispins June 27, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      Glad to help! I have a bunch of suggestions for more songs that I just couldn’t fit on one playlist. Send me a line if you would like the list!

Leave a Reply

