Like a Big Wheel Spin Mix 4/16/12

15 Apr

It’s great to be back from a relaxing family vacation!  I can’t wait to get back on the bike to teach my first class in more than a week tomorrow!!!!  Here’s a little peek at what I got to look at for the past week or so:

So pretty, but really, there's no place like home.

So pretty, but really, there’s no place like home.

I spent a good part of my day checking out all of the amazing music my Ping buddies have been posting while I was away, and many of the songs have made it onto this playlist, so a big THANK YOU to Ping and all of the great instructors that post their music there.  If you don’t use it yet, you absolutely should, because it’s seriously an invaluable resource.

You also may have noticed that I finally figured out how to take a screen shot and post it on the blog rather than typing in each song and artist.  I’m a slow learner.  This will definitely save me some time.

Click here—> to listen to this playlist in iTunes Ping

Roll Like a Big Wheel: Warm up

Back in Time:  Bringing it out of the saddle to continue the warm up.  I don’t know what it is about Pitbull that I can’t get enough of.  I also love how this song has the ‘Love is Strange’ tune running through it.  It reminds me of Dirty Dancing.

Free:  Alternate seated/standing climb

Sin Wagon:  I love this song for seated accelerations!

Let It Die:  Seated climb with standing attacks

Man of Constant Sorrow:  I just noticed this playlist has a bit of a country/bluegrass feel to it.  Standing climb/flat

Requiem for a Dream: Seated climb, slowly adding more gear each minute or so

Lightning: Standing climb

Shake What Your Mama Gave Ya: Seated flat

Jump That Rock: Seated accelerations

Princess of China: Standing climb

Eyes: Alternate seated/standing climb

Country Tabata: Tabata Drill-20 seconds on/10 second recovery

Pour Some Sugar on Me: Cool Down/stretch

I’d Rather Be with You: Stretch

Have a great week! 🙂

10 Responses to “Like a Big Wheel Spin Mix 4/16/12”

  1. Donna G. April 15, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    I really like all your playlists and follow everything you post. I would enjoy the teaching notes for this play list.

    • chrispins April 15, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

      You got it Donna! I’ve updated the post with teaching notes. Thanks for following! 🙂

  2. spinmuse April 16, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Woooo I missed you! Welcome back!

  3. Kathy O'Shields Shapiro April 16, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Welcome back from what looks like a terrific beach trip! Great playlist, Chris! I love your lists and poach from them a lot! 🙂 And I agree 100% about Ping (where I’m Kathy S.) — looooove it!

    I’m Schwinn certified and “accelerations” and “attacks” aren’t terms that Schwinn used in training us. So a coupla questions — when you refer to standing attacks or seated accelerations, are you talking about the same thing that other instructors sometimes call “surges” or “sprint intervals”, but done seated and standing? In other words, speeding up significantly at measured points in the music — say, choruses? I’m assuming so but just want to make sure I “get” your terminology. Thank you!!!!!

    • chrispins April 16, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      Kathy S. from PIng! Hey!!!!! Yes, seated accelerations are just like you described-speeding up at certain intervals with recovery time in between. With the standing attacks on this particular song, I’m having them come from a seated climb and accelerate or ‘surge’ out of the saddle for 10 to 20 seconds and then continue the seated climb. 2 or 3 per song is the usual. I hope that makes sense.

  4. chrispins April 16, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Thanks Amanda! I’m getting back into the groove finally!

  5. Jessica @ Fit Talker April 16, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Hi Chris!!
    Welcome back!
    We missed you but i’m so glad you had a lovely and relaxing vacation.
    I’m definitely going to check out a bunch of these songs since i’m in desperate need for some new tunes.

    • chrispins April 17, 2012 at 1:11 am #

      Thanks Jessica! It was good to finally teach a class again tonight! Hope you find some songs you like on the playlists!

  6. spinasana April 17, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    yay! welcome back! your relaxing vacay sounds awesome. I need one one those! can I please just tell you that your screen shot playlist idea in GENIUS! I hope you don’t mind but ima snag that one 😉

    p.s. I am so right there with you with the pitbull fascination…

  7. chrispins April 17, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    You may absolutely snag it. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

