Grammy Spin Mix (2/12/12)

12 Feb

Grammy Sunday is to me what Super Bowl Sunday is in most households.  I couldn’t care less about football, but I will certainly be watching  DVR’ing the Grammy’s.  (What??? Do you really think I stay up that late on a school night?)  So here’s my Grammy playlist.  All of the songs have received nominations in some form or another.

Listen In iTunes!
Listen In Spotify! 

Coldplay/Every Teardrop is A Waterfall: Nominated for Best Rock Performance and Best Rock Song

Katy Perry/Firework: Nominated for Best Pop Solo Performance

Christina Aguilera/Show me How You Burlesque: Nominated for Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media

David Guetta & Nicki Minaj/Turn Me On: From the album Nothing But The Beat, which was nominated for Best Dance/Electronica Album

Bruno Mars/Grenade: Nominated for Record of The Year and Song Of The Year

The Civil Wars/Barton Hallow: Nominated for Best Country Duo/Group Performance (Really? Country?  Ok, but I love it anyway! BTW, also nominated for Best Folk Album)

Foster the People/Pumped Up Kicks ( I used the Myndset Remix): Nominated for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

Brian Setzer/Go-Go Godzilla: Nominated for Best Pop Instrumental Album (Setzer Goes Instru-Mental!)  Such a cool song!

Rolling In The Deep/Adele ( I used the Bedroom8 Remix Radio Edit) Nominated for Record of the Year and Song Of The Year

Foo Fighters/Walk: Nominated for Best Rock Performance and Best Rock Song

Pink/F**kin’Perfect: Nominated for Best Solo Performance

Leona Lewis/Avicii/Collide: Nominated for Best Remixed Recording, Non-Classical

Pat Metheny/And I Love Her: From the album What’s It All About which was nominated for Best New Age Album.  I actually had the pleasure of seeing Pat Metheny in concert years ago in Syracuse…amazing!

Coldplay/Paradise: Nominated for Best Pop/Duo/Group Performance

7 Responses to “Grammy Spin Mix (2/12/12)”

  1. spinmuse February 13, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    Awesome! Have you watched yet? Make sure not to miss foo fighters + deadmau5 perform together (it’s about 3 hours into the show)

  2. Chris February 13, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    I stayed up late enough to see Adele (amazing!) and then watched some this morning. Loved most of the show, but hated Nicki Minaj. What WAS that? Am I showing my age? Loved, loved, LOVED Sir Paul McCartney singing Golden Slumbers, Carry That Weight, The End. I have such a crush.

  3. spinmuse February 14, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    Hahaha, I actually went to bed right after Nicki, but all of my friends told me they had nightmares from her performance.. I might have to youtube it soon, but no, your age is definitely not showing – that woman is just nuts, apparently. speaking of nuts… gaga… oh my. and agreed, paul mcartney did so wonderful!!!!!

    • chrispins February 14, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      Gaga is nuts for sure, but I do like her music. There’s a picture of her planting a wet kiss on Paul McCartney’s cheek. Poor Paul…it should have been me. I would have gone for the lips though-haha!

  4. spinmuse February 14, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    Er…. I went to bed right BEFORE Nicki. woops. someone should go to bed right now.

  5. Mel February 28, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    hi— love this— did you happen to post your notes anywhere? great playlist!! thanks!

    • chrispins March 4, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

      Hi there! Thanks! Sometimes I post notes to my playlists and sometimes I don’t. It depends on what’s going on in my crazy life that week. Here’s the cliff notes version (as I remember it…):
      Every Teardrop: Warm up
      Firework: Warm up/standing flat
      SHow me How You Burleesque: Alternate standing/seated climb
      Turn Me On: Seated accelerations
      Grenade: Standing flat
      Barton Hollow: Standing climb
      Pumped up Kicks: Alternate seated/standing flat
      Godzilla: Seated flat
      Adele: Standing climb
      Walk: Seated climb
      Perfect: Standing climb
      Collide/Standing climb
      Cool down, stretch

Leave a Reply

