2011-It Was A Pretty Good Year

30 Dec

When I get some free time (like almost never…) I like to check out some of my favorite blogs (most of them are listed here on my blogroll).  Many of them have featured posts about all the wonderful and life changing things that have happened to the bloggers this year.  I can’t help reading them and thinking that their lives are way more interesting than mine, because nothing terribly exciting has happened here over the past twelve months.  Once I started thinking though, I realized it was a pretty good year after all! Here are some of the highlights:

I helped to add a new spin class at my gym:

Since this is a spinning blog, I suppose I should start with something spin-related.  This year I was able to help to add another new spin class at my gym. I had been begging to add a class on Monday nights, but in order to make that happen, we needed to purchase a new stereo and there were no funds in the budget to do so.   I put together a little  ‘Spin a Thon’ and we raised enough money to purchase the stereo (and we had some leftover to give to charity too)!   Needless to say, the Monday night class began in May and it’s been a big hit!

What the hell was I doing here? Fixing my shoe? Not sure...

I signed up for THE RIDE!

I signed up to ride in an amazing 100 mile bike ride, which will take place in May of 2012.  Click here for more details:  Ride for Missing Children.  (This is the charity that we raised money for in last year’s Spin a Thon).  This was actually a pretty big step for me, since I am not really a road biker.  I had to borrow a friend’s road bike for the ride and for training, but who knows, it may become a regular thing.  I’ll keep you updated!

I moved!

Many of you know that in my spare time (aka full time…) I teach kindergarten.  With the  budget cuts going on in our school district, I was asked to move to a new classroom in the same building to accomodate our growing school population.  I’ve moved classrooms a few times in my career and I can tell you that it’s not an easy task.  I spent most of my summer painting, moving and preparing my new room to be ready in September.  My room looks great and I’m lucky to be able to work in a classroom connected to my teaching partner and good friend.  It’s a cozy little basement suite for my 19 little cuties!

(What a mess!  I think I finally just got the last of that yellow paint out of my hair!)

Celebrated my 14th wedding anniversary:

 I really can’t believe I’ve been married for 14 years! My husband and I celebrated with a trip to the wine country (check out this post). It was a beautiful weekend.  The weather was amazing for mid-October.  Lots of good wine and food with my sweetie.  I am a lucky girl.  🙂

Vegas, baby!

My husband had a conference in Vegas back in Februaury, and at the last minute, we decided to make a weekend of it!  I’d never been to Vegas so of course I was super excited for the oppurtunity to go.  I was totally nervous because I had to fly out seperately and my husband would not be able to pick me up at the airport when I arrived.  The thought of having to find a cab to get me to the hotel in a strange city made me so nervous. Wasn’t I suprised when I got to the airport and there was a driver with a limo waiting to take me to The Venetian!  It was an amazing weekend AND we saw LOVE at the Mirage. Incredible!

Cycling in the Cape

We packed up the kids and our bikes and hitched the camper on to the back of our pickup and drove to Cape Cod in August to spent the week biking, beachgoing, camping and siteseeing.  It was a great time with family and friends!

New Deck:

 My husband and brother in-law built an amazing new deck on the back of our house this summer.  It took a lot of hard work and most of the summer to finish, but it was worth the wait.  It is so beautiful and I can’t wait until next summer when I can truly enjoy it!

Old deck demo-how do I not have a picture of the new deck??

Becoming the mom of a teenager???

  On the very last day of this year, I will become the mom of a 13 year old.  I can hardly believe the child that I gave birth to (nearly 6 weeks early) on New Year’s Eve 1998, is going to be a teenager!  Yikes!  Time really does fly.  Happy Birthday bud!

First day of Pre-K

Happy New Year everyone!  I hope 2012 is great!

7 Responses to “2011-It Was A Pretty Good Year”

  1. Irene Sanders December 31, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Love your site….thanks! Have a Happy New Year!

  2. chrispins December 31, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Thanks Irene! Happy New Year to you! 🙂

  3. Jessica @ FitTalker December 31, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    Happy new year Chris! I hope 2012 is just as great as 2011! 😀

    • chrispins December 31, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

      Thanks Jessica! Same to you!!!!

  4. sevspin January 3, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    Busy bee! Wow, I only do a tenth of what you do with spinning classes and a two year-old, and I can’t believe I made it through a year… Cheers to you!
    And thanks for all the postings that I have inspired me many times.
    I put your link on my new blog. Pay a visit when you have time (LOL!).
    sevspin.wordpress.com

  5. spinmuse January 3, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    Happy New Year Chris! YOU are badass!

    • chrispins January 3, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      Amanda, that comment literally made me LOL!

Leave a Reply

