Wake Me Up Cycling Mix: Mile Repeats

27 Jun
tumblr_misjehcZah1r06nz5o1_500

Cool pic, huh?

Today’s playlist is another pilfered Pedal On profile originally posted by Bill P. that I changed up a bit to suit my taste.  The basic premise of the mile repeats remains the same:  There are 4-7:00 intervals  within which every lap is faster (or more intense) than the previous one.  The laps are 1:45 in length.  2:00 recovery after each 7:00 interval.  Here are my notes:

Mile Repeats

*Every lap is faster (or more difficult to maintain) than the previous lap.

*4-7 minute intervals with each 1:45 more intense.  2:00 full recovery.

 

Warm up: 3:10 (SEF)/ 3:53 (STF)  7:03 total

 

Interval #1: Seated Flat Road 

1:45 Maintain 90 RPM, add gear so it starts feeling uncomfortable

1:45 Maintain cadence, adding gear so it feels uncomfortable

1:45 Maintain cadence, adding gear so it starts to feel hard to maintain

1:45 Maintain cadence, adding gear to threshold (breathless state)or slightly above

2:00 Recovery

 

Interval #2 Standing climb

1:45 Starting on the hill at a resistance that is slightly uncomfortable

1:45 Maintain cadence and add resistance until it feels uncomfortable

1:45 Building cadence while maintaining the same resistance, but hard to maintain

1:45 Maintain  (or add ) resistance increasing cadence to a surge, driving intensity to threshold or  slightly above

2:00 Recovery

 

Interval #3 Seated Flat Road

1:45 Maintaining 90 RPM, adding resistance so it starts to feel uncomfortable

1:45 Maintain cadence, adding more resistance so it feels uncomfortable

1:45 At the same resistance, increase cadence to 95-100 RPM so it’s hard to maintain.

1:45 Maintain cadence, adding more resistance to threshold or slightly above.

2:00 Recovery

 

Interval #4 Standing Climb

1:45 Starting on a hill that is slightly uncomfortable

1:45: Maintain cadence and add resistance until it feels uncomfortable

1:45 Maintain resistance and build cadence hard to maintain

1:45 Maintain resistance, increasing cadence to a surge at or above threshold

2:00 Recovery

 

Interval #5 

*Standing Flat

*Recovery

*Tabata

 

Cool Down

Stretch

Here’s the playlist:

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 6.39.01 PM

 

8 Responses to “Wake Me Up Cycling Mix: Mile Repeats”

  1. Lisa June 30, 2013 at 2:28 am #

    Hi Chris,
    I tried to follow the link to Bill’s post on PedalOn. I thought I’d joined that a while ago, but I guess I didn’t (or it expired or something). So, I registered, but it still won’t let me look at the post, until I post 5x myself. Ugh. (I get the reasoning behind requiring people to give and not just come/look/take, but still, it’s a little annoying!) Anyway, in the meantime, the reason I went to look it up was to understand a little more what is meant by “mile repeat” — are you supposed to be covering 1 mile in each interval? each 1:45? not really at all? BTW, how’d your class like it?

    • chris June 30, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

      Hi Lisa,
      I agree, it is a bit annoying that you have to post 5x before you can view certain boards/threads on pedal-on.

      I believe in his original mile repeats profile, the idea was for each MILE to be harder than the previous one. In this profile however, each LAP gets more challenging. So each 1:45 is a lap and each interval is supposed to be a mile. (7:00).

      My class liked it and it was VERY challenging (especially the last lap in each mile).

      I hope that helps!

      • Lisa June 30, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

        Awesome, thanks Chris. I’ll give it a try sometime, probably in a few weeks or so. Gotta do summer vacation first! :-)

  2. Newmie July 4, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    Loved the profile! I used something similar and music with my class today and they loved it.

    I haven’t posted enough comments on pedal-on to access the profiles yet so thank you for sharing.

  3. Tracy Miller July 5, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    Just found your blog – thanks for sharing! I’m following on Spotify and plan to completely steal this profile and playlist next week. :)

    • chrispins July 5, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

      Glad you found my blog Tracy! I hope you continue to find it useful! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anti-Valentine Cycling Mix from the Polar Vortex | Chrispins - February 14, 2014

    […] Monday, I pulled out the ‘Mile Repeats’ Profile. You can see the teaching notes here. Here’s the playlist I used for the […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

